Traffic Ticket Lawyer

NJ Traffic Ticket Lawyers

Fight That Ticket!

NJ Traffic Ticket Lawyers

If you have recently been issued a traffic ticket. Don’t pay it! Fight it!

We rely on our ability to come and go as needed for work, recreation and a wide variety of responsibilities. When a traffic violation threatens to undermine this ability, it’s good to know that you can call on an expert to guide through the process.

Often, a traffic ticket results in nothing more than a fine and a couple of points on your license, but fines can become significant and too many points on your license can take away your ability to drive. That’s when you need a knowledgeable traffic ticket attorney.

  • Traffic Ticket
  • Speeding Ticket
  • Careless Driving Ticket
  • Garden State Parkway NJ

01 / 04

Traffic Violations in New Jersey

Many traffic violations will result in a ticket. This can include paying a fine and potentially a surcharge or in rare cases, spending time in jail. 

In New Jersey, you can get a traffic ticket for all kinds of infractions, including:

  • Speeding
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Careless driving 
  • DUI/DWI
  • Reckless driving
  • Unsafe driving
  • Tailgating 
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Failure to yield right of way

Many of these violations may result in something called “points” being added to your driving record.

Motor Vehicle Points in New Jersey

Like many other states, New Jersey assigns points to a person’s driving record for each traffic violation they receive. The more severe the infraction, the more points are added to the driving record.

If a driver obtains a certain number of points within a certain period of time, then they face a potential license suspension or having to pay a surcharge.  

To give you an idea of what kind of points you can expect for certain traffic tickets, check out the following chart. Please note that this is just a partial list of some of the traffic violations that can result in points.

Traffic OffensePoints
Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk2
Racing on highway5
Failure to observe traffic signals2
Improper passing on right or off roadway4
Tailgating5
Failure to yield to emergency vehicles2
Reckless driving5
Careless driving2
Driving in an unsafe manner4
Use of a handheld cellphone or electronic communication device while driving3
Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit2
Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit4
Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit5
Failure to stop for traffic light2
Improper right or left turn3
Improper u-turn3
Leaving the scene of an accident – personal injury8
Racing on highway5
Moving violation committed out-of-state2

The New Jersey Surcharge Violation System

Assessed each year by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS), a surcharge is a special fine you pay in addition to the fine you pay for the specific traffic violation. 

A surcharge is not the same as an increase in car insurance premiums. A surcharge will be imposed for one of the following violations:

  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • An out-of-state DWI
  • Chemical test refusal
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Driving without a license
  • Driving with an expired license
  • Driving without insurance

A surcharge will also be imposed if you receive six or more points over a period of three years.

Most surcharges will amount to $100 to $250 per year and must be paid for three years. They can sometimes amount to $1,000 or 1,500 per year in the case of a DWI conviction or a chemical test refusal.

Even if you move out of state, if you still have surcharge obligations that haven’t been paid yet, you must still pay them. Only when the three-year surcharge obligation is complete, can you stop paying the surcharge.

Fines for traffic violations in New Jersey

The Municipal Courts of New Jersey lists a few of the moving and non-moving traffic violations that are ticketable as the following:

Statute # Offense Fine

39:3-10 Driving with an expired license $54

39:3-29 Failure to possess driver’s license or registration $180

39:3-33 Display of unclear or indistinct license plates $54

39:4-32 Pedestrian violations $54

39:4-64 Throwing litter from vehicle $230

39:4-81 Failure to observe traffic signal $85

39:4-81 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area — 

Failure to observe traffic signal $140

39:4-82 Failure to keep right $85

39:4-85.1 Wrong way on one-way street $85

39:4-97.3 Use of a cell phone while driving $130

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 1-9 miles per hour $85

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour $95

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour $105

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 20-24 miles per hour $200

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 25-29 miles per hour $220

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 30-34 miles per hour $240

39:4-98 Speeding — exceeding limit by 35-39 miles per hour $260

Why It’s Worth Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney to Fight a “Minor” Ticket

In most cases with traffic tickets, it’s probably not worth the money to pay for an attorney to fight it. This is especially true if it’s been many years since your last moving violation and the ticket is for something minor.

For instance, imagine you have zero points on your New Jersey driving record then get a ticket for speeding over the limit by eight miles per hour. You will likely face a fine of $85 with two points being added to your record. 

Is this worth hiring an attorney for? Probably not, at least from a financial perspective. 

But change the facts a bit such that you already have 11 points on your driving record. And let’s say your commute to work each day on the New Jersey Turnpike takes two hours round trip. Now, adding two points driving record has far more serious consequences.

You will have a suspended license because you now have 13 points on your driving record. During that time, how will you get to and from work?

If this leads to losing your job or working fewer hours, this $85 speeding ticket is now far more expensive. Then there are the costs to reinstate your license. Now, the money spent on hiring an attorney to avoid a license suspension is probably money well spent.  

Frequently Asked Questions About Traffic Tickets in New Jersey

FAQ: When do traffic violations come off my driving record?

They never do. Accumulated points may come off at a rate of three points per year if you avoid any other moving violations or points. However, a record of moving violations will stay on your New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission abstract forever and cannot be removed or expunged. 

FAQ: Is there a way to speed up how fast points come off my driving record?

Yes. Completion of a probationary driver program will take three points off your record. A defensive driving program will take off two points and a driver improvement program will take three points. 

Need Legal Help with Your Traffic Violation Concerns?

Whether you’ve received a ticket or have been arrested, we understand that what you’re currently dealing with is a big deal. If it wasn’t, you wouldn’t be reading this right now.

We truly care about your concerns and the stressful time you’re going through right now. That’s why we want you to contact us so that we can connect you to the right attorney for your particular set of circumstances. Talk to our law firm, it will cost you nothing for the initial consultation.

Maybe you need a lawyer to fix your situation. Or perhaps we can simply point you in the right direction to handle things yourself. Either way, we want to help.

Coverage Area